‘We Are the Future’: New K-Pop ‘Supergroup’ SuperM Announces Debut EP


K-pop "supergroup’"SuperM, which features members from several SM Entertainment boy bands, will release their first EP on Oct. 4.

Made up of Taemin of SHINee, Baekhyun and Kai of EXO, Mark and Taeyong of NCT 127, and Lucas and Ten of SM’s China-focused group WayV, SuperM will share a variety of promotional videos and imagery throughout September and October in the lead-up, according to a calendar released today (Aug. 28) through the group’s official social media. A performance video will arrive on Sept. 28 (Sept. 29 in South Korea), preceding the Oct. 4 release of The 1st Mini Album SuperM.

The EP will feature five tracks: “Jopping,” “I Can’t Stand the Rain,” “2  Fast,” “Super Car,” and “No Manners.”

An instrumental version of "I Can't Stand the Rain" is currently available to listen to on streaming platforms such as Spotify and Apple Music.

New solo images of the group’s members were also shared today, as well as information regarding the album — which will be available in eight distinct versions — and pre-order information for the first official merchandise featuring SuperM.

SuperM is a joint venture by South Korean company SM Entertainment and Capitol Music Group along with Capitol subsidiary Caroline, and was announced earlier this month at Capitol Congress. It is described as the “Avengers” of K-pop thanks to its joining of members from across various SM boy bands. The group has proven controversial, however, with fans from different fandoms taking to social media to express outrage at the plans, which seemingly turn the focus away from each each individual members’ role in their associated teams. When asked about the outrage in an interview with Billboard, Chris Lee said, "We’re trying to unite the fandoms. Fans, please don’t worry about it."

Following the release of the new teaser imagery, album release lead-up schedule, and merchandise info, several hashtags relating to SuperM, including the group's name and their catchphrase "We are the future" trended worldwide on Twitter.