UMLE & Iberian Peninsula Chairman/CEO Jes煤s L贸pez to Receive Desi Arnaz Pioneer Award at La Musa Awards


Jes煤s L贸pez, Universal Music Latin America and Iberian Peninsula’s Chairman/CEO, will receive the Desi Arnaz Pioneer award at the seventh annual La Musa Awards from the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame.

L贸pez, who is responsible for Universal Music Group operations in all Spanish and Portuguese-speaking territories of the world, will receive the recognition for his many contributions throughout his professional career. The Desi Arnaz Pioneer Award was created by the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame in honor of the early television visionary, songwriter and entertainer, who developed the comedy show I Love Lucy, which he produced and starred in with his wife, Lucille Ball.

For more than four decades, Jes煤s L贸pez has worked with some of the greatest artists in Latin music, including Juan Luis Guerra, Juanes, Jos茅 Luis Perales, Joan Manuel Serrat, Mecano and Juan Gabriel. Most recently, he has launched the careers of Karol G and Sebastian Yatra, among many of a new generation of acts. Lopez was also behind the global hits “Despacito” by Luis Fonsi and Daddy Yankee and J Balvin’s “Mi Gente,” which were pivotal in the current explosion of Latin music.

Lopez’s roster of international hits also includes Los del Rio’s "Macarena," "La Camisa Negra" by Juanes, and "Bailando" by Enrique Iglesias featuring Descemer Bueno and Gente de Zona.

Previous recipients of the award include Quincy Jones, Nat King Cole and Raul Pablo Alarcon Sr. The La Musa Awards ceremony will take place Oct. 24 at the James L. Knight Center in Miami. This year’s class of inductees include Ivy Queen, Willie Col贸n, Michael Sullivan, Chico Novarro and Armando Larrinaga.