Sturgill Simpson Releases ‘Sing Along’ Music Video From Upcoming ‘Sound & Fury’ Album & Anime Film


After announcing in July that he would be soundtracking anime film Sound & Fury and releasing an album of the same name, Sturgill Simpson has dropped the lead single from the project.

"Sing Along" is a detion from Simpson's usual, sounding much more rock 'n' roll than what would be expected from the 2017 Grammy winner for best country album. 

It comes with a music video that serves as a preview of the movie, directed by Jumpei Mizusaki. A futuristic car race leads to an epic face-off, ending with what could be the reveal of the film's main character.

Behind it all is Simpson's new sound, complete with a touch of electronica to match the animation's industrial setting. The film is set entirely to Simpson's music, with a different anime segment matching up to each song.

Sound & Fury — both album and film versions — will release on Sep. 27, Elektra records and Netflix respectively.

Check out the Sound & Fury track list and watch the music video for "Sing Along" below.

1. "Ronin"
2. "Remember To Breathe"
3. "Sing Along"
4. "A Good Look"
5. "Make Art Not Friends"
6. "Best Clockmaker On Mars"
7. "All Said And Done"
8. "Last Man Standing"
9. "Mercury In Retrograde"
10. "Fastest Horse In Town"