Sebastian Unveils ‘Thirst’ Track List, Shares Mayer Hawthorne Single ‘Better Now’: Listen


French producer Sebastian continues to deepen his sound with a psychedelic slice of emotion. "Better Now" is sweet but sad with Brian Wilson-inspired layers of sound and heartache vocals from Mayer Hawthorne.

The frustrated love song unfolds in cinematic movements, the result of a night the friends and collaborators shared in Los Angeles. Hawthorne found himself obsessed with a woman he couldn't bring himself to talk to, and when he suggested the pair go back to his house, the song poured out.

"It's almost as a teenager writing a rock love song for somebody," Sebastian tells Billboard Dance. "He didn't have the courage or the power to go to see the girl, but he had the courage to make the song."

"Better Now" is the fourth single from Sebastian's forthcoming sophomore LP, Thirst. The album was recorded in cities throughout the US and Europe, inspired greatly by his time as producer on Charlotte Gainsbourg's album Rest and Frank Ocean's Blonde, the former of whom appears on Sebastian's LP. 

The full track list emerged with additional features from Gallant, The Internet singer Syd, Allan Kingdom, Sparks and more. The Thirst album artwork was also revealed; a composite photograph taken by French potographer Jean-Baptiste Mondino showcases Sebastian beating himself into the dirt, a tongue-in-cheek response to his debut album Total's cover, which showed the producer kissing himself, another work of Mondino's.

Thirst is due in full Nov. 8 on Ed Banger. Listen to "Better Now" with Mayer Hawthorne, peep the album artwork and check the full track list below.

Thirst album tracklist
1. Thirst
2. Doorman ft. Syd
3. Movement
4. Better Now ft. Mayer Hawthorne
5. Pleasant ft. Charlotte Gainsbourg
6. Yebo ft. Allan Kingdom
7. Sev ft. Sevdaliza
8. Sweet ft. Loota
9. Sober ft. Bakar
10. Time to Talk ft. Sunni Colòn
11. Beograd
12. Handcuffed to a Parking Meter ft. Sparks
13. Devoyka
14. Run for Me ft. Gallant