Raptors' Dwane Casey Voted "Coach Of The Year" By His Peers


Toronto Raptors head coach Dwane Casey has reportedly been voted “Coach the Year” by his fellow NBA coaches, according to The New York Times’ Marc Stein. Casey, who has coached the Raptors since 2011, led the team to an Eastern Conference-best 59-23 record, the best mark in franchise history.

Dallas Mavericks head coach and NBCA President Rick Carlisle released the following statement today regarding Casey’s award.

Casey said the following in the press release, “To be honored by your peers is incredibly gratifying, and I am so thankful to my colleagues across the league for this recognition. I’m also grateful to the talented and dedicated coaching staff I work with every day in Toronto.”

During his tenure in Toronto, Casey has guided the Raptors to five straight playf appearances and three consecutive 50-win seasons. However, after being swept by the Cleveland Cavs again, there have been reports that the Raptors are “leaning towards” a coaching change this fseason.

In addition to Casey, the following NBA coaches also received votes: Brett Brown (Sixers), Mike D’Antoni (Rockets), Nate McMillan (Pacers), Gregg Popovich (Spurs), Doc Rivers (Clippers), Quin Snyder (Jazz) and Terry Stotts (Blazers). The NBA will announce the winner the Red Auerbach Trophy as the NBA’s Coach the Year Award on June 25 at the second annual NBA Awards Show live from Los Angeles on TNT at 9 pm ET.