Paul Simon Revisits Earlier Songs for 'In the Blue Light' Album, Due in September


Despite setting out on his Homeward Bound – The Farewell Tour in May, Paul Simon isn't done quite yet. Simon announced Tuesday (July 12) that he will release his 14th studio album, In the Blue Light, on Sept. 7, and the 10-track project will cruise fans through new renditions Simon's old favorites.

In the Blue Light is produced by Simon and Roy Halee and will feature a cast acclaimed musicians alongside Simon. Those musicians include trumpeter Wynton Marsalis, guitarist Bill Frisell and drummers Jack DeJohnette and Steve Gadd.

“This album consists songs that I thought were almost right, or were odd enough to be overlooked the first time around,” Simon said in a release. “Re-doing arrangements, harmonic structures, and lyrics that didn’t make their meaning clear, gave me time to clarify in my own head what I wanted to say, or realize what I was thinking and make it more easily understood.”

The release the new album coincides with the last leg his Homeward Bound – the Farewell Tour, which will end Sept. 22 in Flushing Meadows Corona Park in New York.

“It’s an unusual occurrence for an artist to have the opportunity to revisit earlier works and re-think them — to modify, even completely change parts the originals,” he said. “I hope the listener will find these new versions old songs refreshed, like a new coat paint on the walls an old family home.”

Here is the full track list for In the Blue Light:

1. One Man's Ceiling Is Another Man's Floor

2. Love

3. Can't Run But

4. How The Heart Approaches What It Yearns

5. Pigs, Sheep and Wolves

6. René and Georgette Magritte With Their Dog After the War

7. The Teacher

8. Darling Lorraine

9. Some Folks' Lives Roll Easy

10. Questions for the Angels