Nirvana’s ‘MTV Unplugged in New York’ Getting a Vinyl Reissue With Bonus Tracks


One of rock's most legendary live albums, Nirvana's 1993 acoustic concert at Sony Music Studios, is being re-released on vinyl on Nov. 1 featuring five rehearsal recordings not available on the original. 

First released on Nov. 1, 1994, as part of MTV's Unplugged series, the vinyl reissue will arrive exactly 25 years later. The five extra tracks — all rehearsals from before singer/guitarist Kurt Cobain and company took the stage — were previously only available on the performance's DVD issue. The double-LP anniversary edition will also feature an exclusive gatefold jacket with silver foil detail on the front and back cover.

Nirvana famously avoided almost all of its well-known songs at the MTV gig, choosing instead to fill its set with deep cuts, covers (David Bowie, the Vaselines, Lead Belly) and inviting their pals Curt and Cris Kirkwood to perform three Meat Puppets tracks.

The standard Unplugged reissue will arrive on 180gm black vinyl;  additionally, a colored vinyl variation will be available in limited quantities exclusively on Nirvana's official site.

Find the vinyl track listing below.

LP 1 – Side A
1. About A Girl
2. Come As You Are
3. Jesus Doesn't Want Me For A Sunbeam
4. The Man Who Sold The World

LP 1 – Side B
1. Pennyroyal Tea
2. Dumb
3. Polly
4. On A Plain
5. Something In The Way

LP 2 – Side C
1. Plateau
2. Oh Me
3. Lake of Fire
4. All Apologies
5. Where Did You Sleep Last Night?

LP 2 – Side D
1. Come As You Are (Rehearsal)
2. Polly (Rehearsal)
3. Plateau (Rehearsal)
4. Pennyroyal Tea (Rehearsal)
5. The Man Who Sold The World (Rehearsal)