NFL Network To Air Flag Football Games Ft. Mike Vick, Nate Robinson


The upstart American Flag Football League has agreed to a deal with the NFL Network which includes 11 games that will be broadcast by the NFL Network from June 29 to July 19, according to ESPN’s Darren Rovell.

The league is scheduled to kick f next month and will feature a 128-team single elimination tournament, culminating with the top pro team versus the top amateur team in a championship game worth $1 million.

According to the report, the top amateur flag football teams that advance through the single elimination tournament will then go up against four teams former pressional athletes, including guys like Michael Vick, Chad Johnson, Nate Robinson and Carlos Boozer. More former pros are expected to be announced at a later date.

On July 19th, the top amateur team and the top pro team will go head-to-head for the $1 million grand prize. Applications for amateur teams can be submitted up until March 8th. 

The games, consisting two 30-minute halves, will be played 7-on-7 on a regulation-size, 100-yard field. The clock will continue to run except for the final two minutes the second half.

Other game rules include:

  • Field divided into four 25-yard boxes, and first downs are awarded each time the fense reaches the next box
  • No blocking, kicking, or fumbles
  • Only one lateral allowed per play
  • Once the ball is snapped, the defense has to wait two seconds to rush, and the quarterback will have a total four seconds to release the ball or cross the line scrimmage
  • The quarterback cannot run unless rushed
  • The defense can blitz five times per half without waiting two seconds
  • All players are eligible downfield, except for the center
  • North/south handfs not allowed but pitches and handfs to east/west runners permitted
  • 6 pts per TD under 50 yards, 7pts for TDs over 50 yards
  • Teams will have option based on distance to convert PATs 1, 2 or 3 points