MNEK Announces Debut Album 'Language,' Drops New Track 'Crazy World': Listen


MNEK’s long-awaited debut album Language will be released Sept. 7, as he announced today (Aug. 17). The British pop architect also released anew track -- a jittery, shuffling anthem for solidarity titled “Crazy World.”

“Crazy World” is the fourth Language cut to be unveiled, following “Paradise,” “Tongue” and the Hailee Seinfeld-featuring “Colour.” It comes attached with a children’s book-style lyric video.

“This album is so special to me because it’s something I’ve put my heart and soul into writing and producing and singing (and apparently rapping too!),” MNEK says in a statement Language. “I’ve waited for the day my debut album is released my entire life, so naaaaturallyy I’ve designed it to be listened to from start to finish – so every song flows into each other in a way that tells a sonic story.”

MNEK also explained on Twitter that he’s held onto the title Language despite adjustments to the contents the album. "I'll say i've called it "Language" for me this album has been about me learning the language what it is to be a young man in the world, a young man in love, and also finding out what my real purpose in the industry is. this is still the beginning for me as a recording artist and i really feel there’s so much more for me to learn about all this,” he shared.

Finally, MNEK announced a three-date U.K. tour in October, making stops in Manchester, Birmingham, and London.

Check out the lyric video for "Crazy World" and the tracklist for Language below.

Language tracklist:
1. Background
2. Correct
3. Tongue
4. Gibberish (Interlude)
5. Phone
6. Colour (feat. Hailee Steinfeld)
7. Body
8. Honeymoon Phaze​
9. Language
10. Hearsay (Interlude)
11. Girlfriend
12. Paradise
13. Crazy World
14. Be (Interlude)
15. Free
16. Touched By You