Matt Nathanson Covers Chance the Rapper’s ‘Same Drugs’ & Announces Chicago-Themed Covers EP


Last year, Matt Nathanson released an EP of Def Leppard covers; on Wednesday (July 10), the veteran singer-songwriter unveiled his latest collection of unexpected spins on other people's songs.

The Massachusetts native has announced postcards (from chicago), a six-song EP featuring covers of various artists from around the metro area, beginning with a new version of Chance the Rapper's "Same Drugs" featuring another Windy City son, Fall Out Boy vocalist-guitarist Patrick Stump.

Due July 26, postcards (from chicago) will also feature Nathanson covering an actual Fall Out Boy song ("Hum Hallelujah") alongside tracks by Liz Phair, Cheap Trick, Richard Marx and Uncle Tupelo. The project will arrive through Acrobat Records/Crush Music AWAL (Nathanson and Fall Out Boy are both managed by Crush Music).

Nathanson recorded the tracks at Wilco's Chicago studio The Loft during downtime on tour last summer, inspired by memories of playing to friendly audiences in the city early in his career. "I played Chicago's House of Blues with John Mayer and Howie Day in the summer of 2001, and it changed me," Nathanson explained. "I'd been making records and touring for a few years at that point, but I'd never experienced a place where people hung on the music like that… even when they didn’t really know who I was."

He's also planning a pair of shows in nearby Evanston, Ill., on release day, which will feature EP songs, other Chicago covers and some of his own originals. Fans can get details for Friday's ticket presale here.

Find the "Same Drugs" cover followed by the EP's full track list below.

1. "Same Drugs feat. Patrick Stump (Chance the Rapper cover)
2. "Hum Hallelujah" (Fall Out Boy cover)
3. "Perfect World" (Liz Phair cover)
4. "Surrender" feat. Richard Marx (Cheap Trick cover)
5. "Hold on to the Nights" (Richard Marx cover)
6. "Whiskey Bottle" (Uncle Tupelo cover)