Iggy Pop Preps ‘Free’ Album, Releases Title Track: Listen


Punk godfather Iggy Pop announced on Thursday (July 18) that he will release the follow-up to 2016's Post Pop Depression on Sept. 6 on Loma Vista Recordings. The 10-track album, Free, is described in a press release as having "virtually nothing in common sonically with its predecessor — or with any other Iggy Pop album." 

The album is a collaboration with jazz trumpeter Leron Thomas (Bilal, Erykah Badu) and guitarist Noveller on what is described as a "uniquely somber and contemplative" entry into the 72 year-old rock icon's five-plus decade career. Describing the process of recording the project, Pop said in a statement, "This is an album in which other artists speak for me, but I lend my voice…by the end of the tours following Post Pop Depression, I felt sure that I had rid myself of the problem of chronic insecurity that had dogged my life and career for too long.

"But I also felt drained. And I felt like I wanted to put on shades, turn my back, and walk away. I wanted to be free.  I know that’s an illusion, and that freedom is only something you feel, but I have lived my life thus far in the belief that that feeling is all that is worth pursuing; all that you need — not happiness or love necessarily, but the feeling of being free. So this album just kind of happened to me, and I let it happen."

Pop, currently on screen as a coffee-addicted zombie in director Jim Jarmusch's undead drama The Dead Don't Die, will also release a book of lyrics, 'Til Wrong Feel Right, in October.

Finally, Pop issued the eerie title track for the album, in which he repeats the phrase "I wanna be free," over a mournful jazz trumpet in an ambient soundscape. Listen to the single below:

Free track listing:


"Loves Missing"


"James Bond"

"Dirty Sanchez"

"Glow in the Dark"


"We Are the People"

"Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night"

"The Dawn"