IDLES announce in-store dates and charity exhibition


IDLES announce in-store dates and charity exhibitionBristol post-punk band IDLES are becoming essential listening with every release and they have just announced an art exhibition to celebrate the release of their second album Joy as an Act of Resistance.

Open for two days, between 12pm and 8pm, and curated by the band, the exhibition will take place at:

HM Electrics Gallery, 65 Nile St. London N1 7RD

The gallery will contain 18 pieces of work across several mediums,  will be free entry and artwork on display available to buy, with all proceeds going to the Samaritans charity.

The band have also announced a run of live in-store dates around the album:

30 Aug UK London, Banquet Records, 9pm
31 Aug¬†UK Bristol, Rough Trade,¬†3pm¬†–¬†
31 Aug¬†UK Bristol, Rough Trade,¬†7.30pm¬†–¬†¬†
03 Sep¬†UK Portsmouth, Pie and Vinyl,¬†1pm¬†–¬†¬†
03 Sep¬†UK Brighton, Resident,¬†6.30pm¬†–¬†:¬†
04 Sep¬†UK London, Rough Trade East,¬†7pm¬†–¬†
05 Sep¬†UK Sheffield, Record Junkee,¬†1pm¬†–¬†
05 Sep¬†UK Nottingham, Rough Trade,¬†7.30pm¬†–¬†:¬†
06 Sep¬†UK Leeds, Crash Records,¬†1pm¬†–¬†¬†
06 Sep UK Manchester, FOPP, 5.30pm
07 Sep¬†UK Cardiff, Spiller Records,¬†7pm¬†–

Recent release “Samaritans” continues the impressive set of teasers from their forthcoming album, highlighting the concept of masculinity in the modern age and is probably the most like the songs from their previous album Brutalism.

“There’s been a long line of bullshit that has pushed men into a corner,” says singer Joe Talbot. “Where simple masking becomes a trope of masculinity and a catalyst for insanity. What we wear, what we eat, what razor we use, high performance chewing gum, go faster shampoo, how we treat women, how we treat ourselves, how we die. I truly believe that masculinity has gone from an evolution of cultural praxis to a disease. I wanted to encourage a conversation about gender roles by writing this song.”

Their uplifting pro-immigration anthem “Danny Nedelko” and building brooding epic “Colossus” are also on the album which is due out on 31 August – pre-order here