Grant Hill, Steve Nash & Jason Kidd Named To Basketball Hall of Fame


The Naismith Basketball Hall Fame class 2018 will ficially be announced at a Final Four news conference this weekend in San Antonio, but the names some inductees have already been announced. According to ESPN, the 2018 Basketball Hall Fame class will be headlined by Grant Hill, Jason Kidd and Steve Nash. 

Hill, selected third overall by the Detroit Pistons in the 1994 NBA Draft, was a two-time national champion and two-time All-American at Duke, but injuries limited him during his 19-year NBA career. Still, he made seven All-Star teams and was named to the All-NBA first team during the 1996-97 season.

Jason Kidd, the 1994-95 NBA Rookie the Year, also played in the NBA for 19 years which included an NBA title with the Dallas Mavericks in 2011, five All-NBA first team selections and four All-Defensive first team selections. The 10x All-Star ranks second in assists all-time and third in career triple-doubles. 

Nash, an 8x All-Star, made the All-NBA first team three times during his 18-year career with the Phoenix Suns, Dallas Mavericks and Los Angeles Lakers. He ranks third all-time in assists and is one 12 players to win two MVP awards.

In addition to those three legends, ESPN’s Adrian Wojnarowski reports that Maurice Cheeks will also be inducted into the Hall Fame in 2018. Other finalists for induction into the Hall Fame are Ray Allen, Chris Webber, Charles “Lefty” Driesell and Rudy Tomjanovich, among others.