Death Cab For Cutie Announce ‘The Blue EP’, Release Melancholic Single ‘Kids in ’99’: Listen


Death Cab for Cutie have announced their forthcoming The Blue EP, set to arrive on Sept. 6, and unveiled the first single, "Kids in '99," today (July 30). 

The five-track EP is the follow up to the veteran rockers' 2018 full-length album, Thank You for Today, and comes on the heels of the band's feature on Chance The Rapper's latest album, The Big Day (on "Do You Remember"). 

"Thinking 'bout those kids, thinking 'bout those kids back in '99/ Gas leaking in the creek/ A firecracker then a spark/ In a moment they were gone," Ben Gibbard sings, mourning the three children who lost their lives in the 1999 Bellingham Olympic Pipeline explosion in Seattle, Wash. On the Peter Katis-produced track, the frontman croons over frenzied drums and clean guitar riffs before diving into a fluttery chorus.

"The Olympic Pipeline explosion in 1999 was a tragedy that really affected me while we were living in Bellingham," Gibbard shared in a statement. "After all these years I felt it was worthy of its own folk song.” 

The Blue EP will be released on Sept. 6 Atlantic Records. The band is also on tour through September.

Listen to "Kids in '99" below and find the track listing after the jump.

The Blue EP: 

1. "To The Ground"
2. "Kids in ’99"
3. "Man In Blue"
4. "Before The Bombs"
5. "Blue Bloods"