Colby Wedgeworth Leads 2018 Dove Awards Nominations


Writer and producer Colby Wedgeworth leads the Dove Awards with eight nominations, while artist Tauren Wells has seven nominations, including song the year and new artist the year.

The Gospel Music Association announced the nominees Wednesday (August 8) for the 49th annual GMA Dove Awards, to be presented October 16 in Nashville, Tennessee.

Wells, a former frontman the Christian group Royal Tailor, released his first solo album last year. Zach Williams has six nominations, and Cory Asbury, Tasha Cobbs Leonard and TobyMac with five nominations each.

In the artist the year category, Williams and Leonard are nominated along with Hillsong UNITED, MercyMe and NEEDTOBREATHE.

Check out the nominations below. The 2018 Dove Awards will be taped to air on Trinity Broadcasting Network on Oct. 21. 

Artist the Year
Hillsong UNITED
Tasha Cobbs Leonard
Zach Williams

Song the Year
“All My Hope,” (writers) David Crowder, Ed Cash
“Blessings,” (writers) Allen Swoope, Asheton Hogan, Lecrae Moore, Maurice Simmonds, Tyrone Williams Griffin Jr.
“Broken Things,” (writers) Andrew Jacob Pruis, Jason Houser, Matthew West
“Control (Somehow You Want Me),” (writers) Jason Ingram, Matt Bronleewe, Mike Donehey
“Different,” (writers) Kyle Lee, Micah Tyler
“Hills and Valleys,” (writers) Chuck Butler, Jonathan Smith, Tauren Wells
“I just need U.,” (writers) Blake NeeSmith, Bryan Fowler, Kevin McKeehan
“I'll Find You,” (writers) Danny Majic, John Mitchell, Justin Franks, Lecrae Moore, Natalie Sims, Sasha Sloan, Victoria Kelly
“O'Lord,” (writers) Joe Williams, Paul Mabury
“Old Church Choir,” (writers) Colby Wedgeworth, Ethan Hulse, Zach Williams
“Reckless Love," (writers) Caleb Culver, Cory Asbury, Ran Jackson
“So Will I (100 Billion X),” (writers) Benjamin Hastings, Joel Houston, Michael Fatkin
“Unfinished,” (writers) Ben Glover, Colby Wedgeworth 

New Artist the Year
Cory Asbury
Koryn Hawthorne
Mosaic MSC
Pat Barrett
Tauren Wells

Gospel Artist the Year
CeCe Winans
Jekalyn Carr
Kirk Franklin
Tasha Cobbs Leonard
Travis Greene

Worship Song the Year
“Do It Again,” (writers) Chris Brown, Mack Brock, Matt Redman, Steven Furtick
“Reckless Love," (writers) Caleb Culver, Cory Asbury, Ran Jackson
“So Will I (100 Billion X),” (writers) Benjamin Hastings, Joel Houston, Michael Fatkin
“Spirit the Living God,” (writers) Jacob Sooter, Mia Fieldes
“Tremble,” (writers) Andres Figueroa, Hank Bentley, Mariah McManus, Mia Fieldes 

Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song the Year
“All My Hope,” Crowder, (writers) David Crowder, Ed Cash
“O'Lord, Lauren Daigle, (writers) Joe Williams, Paul Mabury
“When We Pray,” Tauren Wells, (writers) Colby Wedgeworth, Ethan Hulse, Tauren Wells
“I just need U.,” – TobyMac, (writers) Blake NeeSmith, Bryan Fowler, Toby McKeehan
“Old Church Choir,” Zach Williams, (writers) Colby Wedgeworth, Ethan Hulse, Zach Williams 

Rap/Hip Hop Recorded Song the Year
“Not Today Satan (ft. Andy Mineo),” KB, (writers) Andrew Mineo, Chris Mackey, Jacob Cardec, Joseph Prielozny, Kevin Burgess
“War Cry (ft. Tauren Wells),” Social Club Misfits, (writers) Andrew Wells, David Frank, Fernando Miranda, John Thomas Roach, Martin Santiago, Tommee Pritt
“SMILE,” – Tedashii, (writers) Lasanna Harris, Marquis Rachad, Philip Green, Shama Joseph, Tedashii Anderson
“Forever,” Trip Lee, (writers) Jacob Cardec, William Barfield
“Praying Hands (ft. Trip Lee),” Ty Brasel, (writers) Kenneth Christian Mackey, Ty Brasel 

Contemporary Gospel/Urban Recorded Song the Year
“I Got That,” Anthony Brown & group therAPy, (writer) Anthony Brown
“A Great Work,” Brian Courtney Wilson, (writers) Aaron W. Lindsey, Alvin Richardson, Brian Courtney Wilson
“Not Lucky, I'm Loved,” Jonathan McReynolds, (writers) Jonathan McReynolds, Terrell Demetrius Wilson
“Won't He Do It,” Koryn Hawthorne and Roshon Fegan, (writers) Loren Hill, Makeba Riddick, Rich Shelton
“You (ft. Tye Tribbett),” Snoop Dogg, (writers) Jovan J. Dawkins, Jevon Hill, Stanley Green Jr., Timothy Tyrone Bush Jr., Tye Tribbett 

Southern Gospel Recorded Song the Year
“He Can Take It,” Brian Free & Assurance, (writers) Jeff Bumgardner, Kenna Turner West, Sue C. Smith
“Clear Skies,” Ernie Haase & Signature Sound, (writers) Ernie Haase, Joel Lindsey, Wayne Haun
“Hallelujah Band,” Gaither Vocal Band, (writers) Becca Mizell, Sam Mizell
“Washed By The Water,” Jason Crabb, (writers) Dave Barnes, Jason Crabb, Jordan Reynolds
“Just When You Thought,” Joseph Habedank, (writers) Joseph Habedank, Michael Farren, Wayne Haun