Chris Jericho Fires Back At Conor McGregor’s Explanation Of "Champ-Champ"


WWE superstar Becky Lynch won both the Raw Women’s Championship and SmackDown Live Women’s Championship in the main event of Wrestlemania 35 on Sunday night, after defeating Ronda Rousey and Charlotte Flair in a “winner takes all” Triple Threat match.

After securing both belts, fellow Irishman Conor McGregor took to twitter to congratulate Lynch on her historic victory – but his comments sparked a whole new conversation.

While some fans were focused on the last part of McGregor’s tweet, in which he teased a future WWE appearance, others questioned his initial remark, where he dubbed Lynch “WWE’s first Champ Champ.”

As seen in the tweets embedded below, a fan responded to McGregor with a photo of former WWE superstar Chris Jericho holding both the WWF and WCW World Championships back in 2001. The UFC star quickly countered by providing his own explanation of what it means to be “Champ Champ.”

Jericho caught wind of that nonsense and issued his own response, explaining to McGregor that WCW had already been absorbed by the then-WWF when he was crowned Undisputed champion at the Vengeance PPV in 2001.

“Thanks for the explanation of the rules Champ Champ. But Both belts were won under the same organization, on the same night. Now quit being a mark and move along, junior.”

As for McGregor hinting at a WWE appearance and the possibility that these two might cross paths, Jericho now works for All Elite Wrestling, so it’s likely their latest back-and-forth will stay within the confines of twitter.