Carrie Underwood, Luke Combs & More Named CMT Artists of the Year


The 10th annual CMT Artists of the Year is fast approaching and Carrie Underwood, Kane Brown, Luke Combs, Dan + Shay and Thomas Rhett will be honored at the 2019 ceremony.

The television special, which aims to celebrate artists within the country genre who saw success at radio and on the road, will air live from Nashville on Oct. 16. Each honoree was selected by CMT for their achievements in 2019.

Underwood has been selected as CMT’s artists of the year for the fifth time, while Rhett has also been previously recognized. Brown, Combs and Dan + Shay will be receiving the honor for the first time.

The 90-minute event will include special performances that honor each act named CMT’s Artists of the Year. Performers are expected to be announced in the coming weeks. The 10th annual event will be held at Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center.

The 2018 edition of the ceremony featured an all-female slate of honorees in the country community. Underwood, Miranda Lambert, Kelsea Ballerini, Maren Morris, Lady Antebellum’s Hillary Scott and Little Big Town’s Karen Fairchild and Kimberly Schlapman were recognized.