Carly Rae Jepsen Releases Dreamy ‘Dedicated’ Album: Stream it Now


The last year has probably felt like a century for Carly Rae Jepsen fans. The singer has been slowly leaking out songs from the eagerly anticipated follow-up to her beloved 2015 album Emotion, with each new taste ramping up expectations in the Carly Nation. Their prayers were finally answered on Friday (May 17) when the 15-track Dedicated album dropped, after previews in the form of the lead single, "Party For One," as well as the pop bubbles "Now That I Found You," "No Drug Like Me" and New Wave-y lead track "Julien."

The good news is that the wait was well worth it, with Jepsen in full flourish on tracks like the bouncy Jack Antonoff-produced 1980s mall pop jam "Want You In My Room," the robotic space bop "Everything He Needs" and the slinky, urgent "I'll Be Your Girl." The whole project is bathed in a glittery Reagan-era sheen, from the cyborg backing vocals on several tracks to the crisp drum machine beats and the bright arrangements on the tropical hip-grinder "Too Much."

The Canadian singer's fourth album also, of course, has a couple slow jams, including the vulnerable ballad "The Sound" and the airy "Right Words Wrong Time," with the whole thing gliding to Earth with the finger-snapping, cowbell-heavy samba "For Sure" and, of course, slam-dunk closer "Party of One."

Listen to Dedicated below: