BTS Reveal ‘Map of the Soul: Persona’ Track List


This Friday (April 12) will see BTS release their first album of 2019. Ahead of the highly-anticipated drop, the group has revealed the track list for Map of the Soul: Persona today (April 8).

Shared through social media, BTS’ company Big Hit Entertainment revealed the album will be a seven-track EP. It will be fronted by the single “Boy With Luv” (also known as “A Poem for the Small Things”) that features Halsey, and will also include the already-released RM solo “Intro: Persona,” along with the songs "Mikrokosmos," "Make It Right," "HOME," "Jamais Vu," and "Dionysus."

The album title is inspired by Jungian philosophy, as related through Murray Stein’s Jung's Map of the Soul, the Korean version of which is currently being sold by Big Hit Entertainment, and "Boy With Luv" appears to be a callback to BTS' 2014 single "Boy In Luv." The track list reveals that several song titles are similarly inspired by classical and philosophical influences: "Mikrokosmos" translates into "microcosm" from Greek; the Korean title “소우주" has a similar meaning. It appears to be a reference to Béla Bartók's early 20th century piano composition.

Meanwhile, “Jamais Vu” translates from French to mean “never seen,” and is a psychological experience that is considered oppositional to that of déjà vu, and in this case refers to a situation where the observer feels something familiar is anything but. The album’s final track “Dionysus” features the name of the Greek god most associated with wine and ancient theater.

Following the tracklist's release, the hashtag "Persona Tracklist," as well as the phrases "Dionysus" and "Jamais Vu" trended worldwide on Twitter.