Black Sabbath, George Clinton & Parliament-Funkadelic Among Recording Academy Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients


The Recording Academy introduced Wednesday (Dec. 19) that music legends Black Sabbath and George Clinton & Parliament-Funkadelic are this yr’s Lifetime Achievement Award honorees. Dionne Warwick, Donny Hathaway, Julio Iglesias, Sam & Dave and late jazz singer Billy Eckstine may even obtain the award, in line with NME.

The award, decided by the Recording Academy’s National Board of Trustees, is introduced yearly to performers who've made impactful artistic contributions to the recording subject.

The Recording Academy additionally introduced 2019’s Trustee Award honorees Lou Adler, Ashford & Simpson and Johnny Mandel. Saul Walker will posthumously obtain the Technical Grammy Award.

The ceremony will happen on May 11, 2019 in Los Angeles.