Black Eyed Peas Release 'Masters of the Sun Vol. 1,' First Album in Eight Years


The Black Eyed Peas are again with their seventh studio album, Masters of the Sun Vol. 1. In a departure from the EDM and pop music the group put out on their albums The E.N.D. and The Beginning, the brand-new undertaking brings again the hip-hop sound the group was initially identified for.

The album, which follows a string of politically charged releases over the previous yr, addresses present American political and social points disproportionately affecting communities of shade, together with gun management, immigration reform, jail reform and police brutality. 

Masters of the Sun Vol. 1 was produced fully by Black Eyed Peas member and options Nas; the late Phife Dawg and Ali Shaheed Muhammad of A Tribe Called Quest; CL; Slick Rick; Nicole Scherzinger; and Posdnuos of De La Soul. Former Black Eyed Peas member Fergie, who departed the group earlier this yr, doesn’t seem on the album.

This album extends the universe of Masters of the Sun: The Zombie Chronicles, a graphic novel impressed by's concepts. The graphic novel is revealed by Marvel Comics.

Accompanying the album launch is the music video for "Dopeness," the album's sixth monitor. Featuring rapper CL of former Okay-pop supergroup 2NE1, "Dopeness" isn't precisely a brand new track; it leaked on-line in its authentic model as "Superdope" in 2016. The music video itself was filmed in 2015.

The Black Eyed Peas will kick off The Masters of the Sun Tour on Oct. 27, which is able to run via Nov. 18. Stream the total album under.