Billboard Dance Chart Upstarts: Digital Farm Animals, Shaun Frank & Dragonette, Kungs & Stargate, Pendulum


Each week, Billboard Dance looks at songs & albums rising on Billboard’s dance charts.

Digital Farm Animals, Shaun Frank & Dragonette, “Tokyo Nights”

London-based DJ/producer Digital Farm Animals (Nicholas Gale), teaming with Toronto-based singer Shaun Frank and fellow Torontonian act Dragonette (Martina Sorbara, Dan Kurtz and Joel Stouffer), debuts on Billboard’s Dance/Mix Show Airplay chart (dated July 14) at No. 40 with “Tokyo Nights.” It’s the fourth hit each for Digital Farm Animals and Shaun Frank, and the first action for Dragonette since its chart-topping collaboration with Martin Solveig, “Hello,” in February 2011. “Tokyo,” released back on March 30, takes nearly the entirety its airplay in the tracking week ending July 8 from three core-dance outlets, KNHC (C89.5) Seattle, iHeartRadio’s Evolution network (as monitored on WFLZ-HD Tampa, Florida), and Music Choice's Dance/EDM channel, according to Nielsen Music.

C89.5 program director JB McDaniel explained to Billboard, “We put it in because we liked it, and the artists have a track record at KNHC. Sometimes great songs just take a little time to develop, and it has a fun summer vibe.”

Kungs & Stargate featuring GOLDN, “Be Right Here”

French DJ Kungs (aka Valentin Brunel), teaming with Norwegian production duo Stargate (Tor Erik Hermansen and Mikkel Storleer Eriksen) and featuring Los Angeles-based singer GOLDN (Josh Golden), arrives at No. 31 on Hot Dance/Electronic Songs with “Be Right Here.” It’s the third hit for Kungs, whose collaboration with Cookin’ On 3 Burners, “This Girl,” spent seven weeks at No. 7 in late 2016. “Be” is the second appearance, and first as a lead act, for Stargate; “Carry You Home” (Tiesto featuring Stargate and Aloe Blacc) cruised to No. 26 last October. GOLDN’s maiden appearance on any Billboard chart, “Be” earned 655,000 U.S. streams in the tracking week following its June 22 video release, according to Nielsen Music.

Pendulum, The Reworks

Australian act Pendulum (consisting Rob Swire, Gareth McGrillen, Peredur ap Gwynedd, Paul 'El Hornet' Harding and KJ Sawka) parades onto a Billboard chart for the first time in seven years, debuting on Dance/Electronic Album Sales at No. 5, its best chart position yet, with The Reworks. The album boasts remixes from Eelke Kleijn, Moby, Pegboard Nerds and Skrillex, among others. Previously, Pendulum charted with In Silico (No. 16, 2008) and Immersion (No. 6, 2011).