Banda el Recodo Unveils 'Entre Amigos' Tracks and All-Star 80th Anniversary Duets Album: Exclusive Photos


The iconic Mexican band reveals 12 tracks with Luis Fonsi, Yuri, Gerardo Ortiz, David Bisbal, Tucanes de Tijuana and more.

Banda el Recodo's 80th anniversary duets album, Entre Amigos (Between Friends), is finally out, and now fans have even more to look forward to: they've tapped some the biggest names in Latin music to celebrate their 80th anniversary. 

Founded in 1938, Banda Sinaloense el Recodo de Don Cruz Lizárraga has been seen around the globe. They continue releasing albums in addition to touring consistently and making new generations fans, and the band (featuring nearly 20 members) introduces new bandmates every few years.

Founder Cruz Lizárraga would have been 100 this year, his son Poncho Lizárraga said, and added that the tribute album includes music that's resonated with fans through the years. The first track, “Tengo Una Ilusión,” was written by the patriarch and is a special song because he wrote it before his death in June 1995. It was written to his wife, María de Jesús Lizárraga.

“We knew Yuri had to sing it,” Lizárraga said. “We were thrilled that she accepted, especially since he wrote that song for our mother.”

The process selecting songs was a challenge in some ways, because once each guest signed on to participate, they'd have to agree on date to record on in Mazatlán, the Mexican resort town along the Pacific shoreline in the state Sinaloa. The dates, Lizárraga said, worked out without any issues.

“I'd like to think that our dad had something to do with that,” Lizárraga said. “My hope is that people can see the history and impact Banda el Recodo. The band and the music has reached many hearts through the years and it all started with the vision that our father had and we're proud that.”

Entre Amigos Song List:

“Tengo Una Ilusión” / Yuri

“Mi Vicio Más Grande” / Gerardo Ortiz

“Y Llegaste Tú” / Timbiriche

“Gracias Por Tu Amor” / David Bisbal

“Clave Privada” / Los Tucanes de Tijuana

“Dime que Me Quieres” / Luis Fonsi

“Lo Mejor De Mi Vida” / Cristian Castro

“Maldito Miedo” / Carlos Rivera

“El Son De Los Aguacates” / Mariachi Vargas

“Yo Se Que Te Acordarás” / Julio Preciado

“6 Pies Abajo” / Don Ramón Ayala y Eliseo Robles

“Consequences de Mis Actos” / Sebastián Yatra