AFROPUNK, HBO & Issa Rae Launch 'Insecure' Music Contest for Rising Artists


HBO's hit series Insecure is loved for its edge–the-seat drama just as much as it is for its impeccably crafted soundtrack, and AFROPUNK is giving up-and-coming artists an opportunity to get in on the action. In collaboration with HBO and Issa Rae, AFROPUNK has launched the #InsecureMusicContest ahead the upcoming season  Insecure.

For one week, independent artists and bands can submit their music on the ficial AFROPUNK site for a chance to hear their music in the new season  Insecure as well as the show's soundtrack on RCA Records. Applicants are encouraged to upload music that shows their own distinct style and should not reference the show or its characters in any way.

Issa Rae, along with Insecure music supervisor Kier Lehman and the rest the music team will choose one contestant. The contest is already underway and will end on Tuesday (May 22) at 11:59 p.m.

Applicants can check out the full contest rules here

The soundtrack for Insecure season two featured new music from SZA, Jorja Smith, Leikeli47, and more, as well as a few fan favorites from GoldLink and Bryson Tiller. 

Watch Issa Rae's PSA below.