CMT to Honor Carrie Underwood, Miranda Lambert & More at All-Female Artists of the Year Special


For the first time since CMT started shining a spotlight on the strongest voices in country with their annual Artists the Year celebration in 2012, the network has dedicated the night to an all-female roster reflecting "what’s happening right now in culture and in the lives our fans."

Carrie Underwood, Miranda Lambert, Kelsea Ballerini, Maren Morris, Karen Fairchild and Kimberly Schlapman  Little Big Town and Lady Antebellum’s Hillary Scott are the honorees the 2018 special, which airs Oct. 17 at 8 p.m. E.T./P.T. on CMT.

“In this monumental year for women, dedicating one the biggest nights in the genre to applaud female country artists not only solidifies our commitment, but we hope will spark a much-needed change in the industry," says Leslie Frame, Senior Vice President Music & Talent at CMT, the shift to an all-female Artists the Year roster. 

CMT will fully turn its focus to supporting the Artists the Year showcase by dedicating a full day airtime to a "Woman Country" takeover across the network's various broadcast and digital platforms.

A slate artists will join the honorees in Nashville, though the list performers for the program will be announced at a later date.